Self-confidence during football practice

Everything related to tactics, coaching and refereeing
user_16
New User

Self-confidence during football practice

Post by user_16 » 26 Dec 2009, 10:51

Hey. I have recently turned 17 and in October I started playing football in a club for players between 15 and 19. The problem is, I usually get very nervous before football practice, thinking about the mistakes I'm going to make and what the people are going to think about me when I do a wrong pass or don't succeed in dribbling the opponent. And soon, there's going to be a try-out where the coach will pick the player squad.

I'm not bad at football but it's the problem with my self-confidence. I'm a very good player during my spare time and I usually hear from other people in my class when we play football in school that I should start playing for a local team. I'm a good dribbler, good at shooting long-range shots and quite good at passing. So, these weeks there's still football practice and I want to impress the coach, so I'll get a chance to play some matches for the team too.

I'd be happy if someone could answer me and give me some ideas or advice, telling me to stop being nervous and being all "safe" during football practice, not daring to dribble or go on trying to beat the last defender before scoring a goal.

Icy
Veteran Member

Post by Icy » 26 Dec 2009, 11:09

What you must realize is that your self-confidence will come with results. Results comes through playing and accepting that there will be mistakes.

Ever notice how even professional players can have stints of poor play? There is a similar situation as you. They make a mistake(s) that they don't think they should be making. They over think it and start to doubt their ability with then translates to how they play on the field.