Throw in; Deliberately to opponent (hard)

Everything related to tactics, coaching and refereeing
G-Unit-Freestyler
Senior Member
Posts: 279
Joined: 01 Jan 2006, 16:11

Post

Is it legal to throw in, if say the opponent is looking the other way, and I throw it at the back of his head, if non my teammates are free? Just want to make sure be4 I do it in a match :P

Wiseman_philosopher
Moderator
Posts: 641
Joined: 11 Apr 2005, 10:05
Location: Bristol

Post

Why would you want to that??? Make yourself look good or something?
He who thinks too much about every step he takes will stay on one leg all his life.

Magicfeet
Moderator
Posts: 1212
Joined: 15 Apr 2005, 10:03
Location: England

Post

What I think G-Unit Freestyler is wondering, wiseman, is whether it would be legal to deliberately bounce the ball off and opponent (and get the ball back himself) from a throw in, if none of his team mates are unmarked. As a back-up option, perhaps. And perhaps to wind a player up (there's really no need to throw it in the back of his head! ;) )

In answer: It's completely legal, if perhaps a little unsporting and risky. Besides, if you do bounce it off someones head, I'm pretty sure the next time you get the ball you'll be waving goodbye to your kneecaps. Let us know how it turns out.

Wiseman_philosopher
Moderator
Posts: 641
Joined: 11 Apr 2005, 10:05
Location: Bristol

Post

Magicfeet wrote:What I think G-Unit Freestyler is wondering, wiseman, is whether it would be legal to deliberately bounce the ball off and opponent (and get the ball back himself) from a throw in, if none of his team mates are unmarked. As a back-up option, perhaps. And perhaps to wind a player up (there's really no need to throw it in the back of his head! ;) )
Well duh.

What I was wondering is why he would want to do that (throw it hard at an opponent to wind them up).
He who thinks too much about every step he takes will stay on one leg all his life.

Pokerized
Senior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 21 Jul 2006, 17:58
Location: New York

Post

One of my teammates did that in a game and the ref game him a yellow card for unsportsmanlike behavior. Granted, this was after about 5 other yellow cards on both sides, so the game was incredibly heated and tense. I'm not sure how legal it would be when the game wasn't so tense. Or maybe the ref was just an idiot (which he was) and made a bad call.
"Some people believe that football is a matter of life and death; I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that."
-Bill Shankly

Morgoth
Senior Member
Posts: 136
Joined: 11 Mar 2006, 20:57
Location: Norway

Post

Its legal. Ive seen it done in a match and I dont really see why it shouldnt be legal
Must suck to be you

~Dynamic_Dinamo~
Senior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: 02 Aug 2006, 18:28
Location: Canada

Post

I've seen it done in professional basketball games before.

Croatianblood1
Veteran Member
Posts: 2958
Joined: 25 May 2005, 21:36
Location: New York, USA

Post

~Dynamic_Dinamo~ wrote:I've seen it done in professional basketball games before.
Yeah so have i. The player does it when nobody on his/her team is open.
Image

Futbolstud
Veteran Member
Posts: 314
Joined: 15 Jul 2005, 20:25
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post

yea it may be legal in bball but not soccerthat counts as striking and is cautionable offense i know this because i just got my license
Image

gnarlyjim
EF Mountie
Posts: 3767
Joined: 07 Jul 2006, 02:08
Location: Canada

Post

I disagree. Many times in a game, a player will kick the ball off another player and get his team a throw-in, and it is totally legal. Saying that throwing it off an opponent is just complicating certain situations, hence, there is no rule stateing that you can not throw it off your opponent. Now, if you throw the ball with one arm, as hard as you can at his/her face, you will be risking a card.
Image

Futbolstud
Veteran Member
Posts: 314
Joined: 15 Jul 2005, 20:25
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post

we discused it in class its one of the 7 cuationable offenses and it goes down under striking
Image

englishplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: 14 Feb 2006, 18:09

Post

I think it will depend on how you do it. I think you could away with it if weren't obvious about it. If you look like your clearly aiming for the back of someones head while their turned and you just launch it at him then most likely you will be called for it. If you do it so that it doesn't seem so obvious then you would probably be able to get away with it. I know that you can get off by just kicking it off of the other team because I have done this many times before.

fir_nev
Sgt. I can't get enough of Asian chicks
Posts: 2175
Joined: 10 Mar 2005, 09:25
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Post

Legal.. but up to the ref's decision.
Image

englishplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: 14 Feb 2006, 18:09

Post

I personally would not do this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2l0aDcqAhgo

zizou
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: 12 Feb 2007, 15:09

Post

you can download the official rules at www.fifa.com and check there... sorry i don't have the time to check myself

Post Reply