Pires penalty- Rules explained

Everything related to tactics, coaching and refereeing
Post Reply
frizzyan
Veteran Member
Posts: 612
Joined: 31 Oct 2004, 04:09

Post

What pires did mirrored Cruyff's penalty some years back. Basically you just pass the penalty to a teammate and the teammate passes back to you. But you must touch the ball, which Pires failed to do and therefore it was assumed as a fake, and you can't fake a penalty so the freekick was awarded to Mancity.[/u]

*~El Maestro~*
Veteran Member
Posts: 1630
Joined: 25 Mar 2005, 19:39

Post

actually the bottom of his cleats touched the ball so normally it should be play on. and if they ref had let them play on the team arsenal was playing against could have made a fastbreak

frizzyan
Veteran Member
Posts: 612
Joined: 31 Oct 2004, 04:09

Post

you mean mancity? nah if it was play on, henry would have gotten there first.

And besides, his cleats didn't touch the ball according to the ref. And it's the ref's decision that counts! So much controversy but especially in cases like these, emphasizes the need for new technology.

Ronaldinho10
Moderator
Posts: 585
Joined: 16 Apr 2005, 15:06

Post

frizzyan wrote:you mean mancity? nah if it was play on, henry would have gotten there first.
And besides, his cleats didn't touch the ball according to the ref. And it's the ref's decision that counts! So much controversy but especially in cases like these, emphasizes the need for new technology.
Nah your wrong.
The referee gave a free kick because he thought that Pires touched the ball twice and therefore gave a free kick too Man City. This is what the ref said in an interview after the match.

As for the whole incident I think Henry and Pires were extremely brave too try this and apparently they practiced it the other way round - Henry pass to Pires but Henry wanted to mark his breaking of the scoring record in style with a goal that would (if it had come off) have been talked about as a stroke of genius for many years. So instead of Henry passing to Pires - Pires would pass to Henry to ensure Henty scored.
Unfortunately it wasn't ment to be.

But they have both laughed it off now.

And also I would bet anyone that another set of players whether in the Premiership or the Champions league etc. will try this penalty again and probably will score.

The_Majestic
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: 25 Sep 2005, 20:02
Location: Mesquite, TX (Dallas)

Post

If the ball made a full revolution, then it's in play. To me it didn't look like he touched it, so he should be issued a re-do, but at the cost of a yellow card because you can't fake a pk. That's what they taught us at the referee course.

Post Reply