team mates generalising and being d"cks

Talk about current events, entertainment, technology or anything not related to soccer
footy_oaf

team mates generalising and being d"cks

Post by footy_oaf » 26 Oct 2009, 23:09

ok, please i need some help, i can now see how much your mind affects your playing.

ok, just a wee bit of backround: 2 (12 years old then) years ago i moved from my country Argentina to Manchester. while in Argentina i didnt play football, and when i meved here i thouht "well i am argentine, i better play like one" so i started playing, and i discovered it was amazing, etc etc..

now, this is my second season with a last division u15 team and i never start lol. some of my teammates, especially one of them, annoy me. this is the kind of thing he says: "hes not argentine, he wants to be, but e is too bad (at football)" or "you arent argentine, you cant even keep the ball up". at school its more like "haha youre an immigrant" but as a joke, not a snide remark like my teammate.

its mostly what my temmate generalises argentines and puts me down that really makes me crap when we play. it makes me feel that im not up to my countrys standard, that im under-achieving, it gives me too much pressure to do better so my confidence goes down..

i know im better than most my team, but when i play with them i go shy, my confidence goes down, i do worse, and they insult me more. i know im better, but i feel that what he is saying is essentially true.. people expect south americans (brazilians and argentines) to be top player in the team, and im in the bench. i know that with confidence i would start, but i dont, im on the bench, and he is one of the star players, so he compares me to the stereotipical argentine to make me feel bad

i cant just ignore him and get on with it, as all the evidence points to that he is right.
btw he also goes on about how he is brazilian cause he believes he is sooo skillful