Increasing Acceleration/Speed - U14 Player

Physical conditioning, injuries, nutrition and everything related to fitness
westers
New User

Increasing Acceleration/Speed - U14 Player

Post by westers » 21 Dec 2009, 22:16

Dear All,

I realise that there are several speed sections within the web site already, but I wanted to be a bit more specific. I’m currently a UEFA B coach working at a professional club as a coach. We recently had a U14 player on trial with us, he had great attributes including, strength, power, finishing. Unfortunately his speed let him down a little (over 10-15 yards) he has now been released from his trial but I know that with some correct training he could improve his speed and return in a year for another trial.

Does anyone have any information or links regarding speed training programs, which would be appropriate for a young person of the age U14? I would appreciate any feed back.

Icy
Veteran Member

Post by Icy » 21 Dec 2009, 22:43

Before I begin I want to say that it's great that you're wanting to help this player progress even if it might not affect your club. Great to see that.

There are no real questions so I'll give some information that you can dive into online. If you want just a direct answer from here I'll give it to you. I just don't see the point in typing up a few page informative post if you have just a few specific questions.

There are two types (well 3 but two are "closely" related) of muscle fiber that are the slow twitch and fast twitch fibers. Obviously fast twitch is what this athlete will need to be training. It's trained through explosive movements like sprinting, plyometrics, etc.

A very simple answer to this will be to have them do sprints between 20-50m and take a lot of rest per set. This is not intended to work on the classic idea of fitness but to force the body to be explosive. So a good work to rest ratio would be 1:5 or so.