Indirect kick inside the box?????

Got questions about the laws of the game?

Moderator: Staff

User avatar
ajc
The Philly Flyer
Posts: 3152
Joined: 29 Apr 2006, 02:08
Location: Delaware, USA
Contact:

Indirect kick inside the box?????

Postby ajc » 06 Jun 2006, 02:07

At 4:37 of this roberto carlos compilation vid http://youtube.com/watch?v=Jv5Eoe8YH6E& ... o%20carlos he takes a free kick from near the penalty spot, but there is a wall of players in the goal!!! What was the situation here and what possibilites could have resulted in this happening?
Image
Click it

User avatar
Mr.SoccerMojo
Veteran Member
Posts: 801
Joined: 11 Aug 2005, 04:41
Location: Fort Smith,Arkansas
Contact:

Postby Mr.SoccerMojo » 06 Jun 2006, 02:13

someone used hands that's all I can think of at the moment but it's really up to the refs so... hmm...
Those who race towards death
Those who wait
&
Those who worry

User avatar
ajc
The Philly Flyer
Posts: 3152
Joined: 29 Apr 2006, 02:08
Location: Delaware, USA
Contact:

Postby ajc » 06 Jun 2006, 02:26

at first i was thinking the goalie used his hands outside the box, but then the kick would be from the edge of the area, not inside. it was probably some type of handball though, but idn....
Image
Click it

hustler89
Veteran Member
Posts: 511
Joined: 15 Mar 2006, 19:42

Postby hustler89 » 06 Jun 2006, 12:03

I think that can happen if an outfield player passes it towards the goalkeeper and he picks it up. Then the other team get a freekcik from wherever the goalie picked it up from.

User avatar
interista
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: 16 Mar 2006, 14:36
Location: Minnesota

Postby interista » 06 Jun 2006, 12:17

it could also been high foot

that hapened in one of our games
Last edited by interista on 07 Jun 2006, 04:27, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Thanks jthursto for the sig

User avatar
Croatianblood1
Veteran Member
Posts: 3018
Joined: 25 May 2005, 21:36
Location: New York, USA
Contact:

Postby Croatianblood1 » 06 Jun 2006, 15:46

hustler89 wrote:I think that can happen if an outfield player passes it towards the goalkeeper and he picks it up. Then the other team get a freekcik from wherever the goalie picked it up from.


Yeah this is true, it happened to my team in a game. Our player directly passed the ball to our keeper and he picked it up with his hands in the box and the other team got the free kick in the box at the spot of foul.
Kinda weird rule cause the free kick is so close to the goal.
Image

peps1154
Veteran Member
Posts: 1571
Joined: 09 Jul 2005, 12:59
Location: Schiller Park/Chicago
Contact:

Postby peps1154 » 07 Jun 2006, 02:03

That rule was established around 1995, I think, ur golkeeper cant pick the ball up if u INTENTIONALY pass the ball to him. It can also bee from dangerous play.

mb1471
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: 09 Apr 2006, 04:08
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Postby mb1471 » 07 Jun 2006, 03:20

my coach said that pros dont have dangerous play and that its a pansy rule and whenever our goalie picks it up when its been passed back theres a penalty kick for the other team called so maybe itss up to the ref? cuz think about it if the goalies on his line and touches it...yeah thats like an automatic goal

User avatar
JDTRIXTA
Senior Member
Posts: 220
Joined: 08 May 2006, 06:31
Location: brisbane, Australia

Postby JDTRIXTA » 07 Jun 2006, 03:49

The actuall only time this free kick iccurs is when a player passes the ball and the keeper picks it up or some has a high foot inside the box. but i don't no why the ref awarded the free kick where the inccident occured in your game because wherever it is in the box it is ment to be taken from the penalty spot. we got given 1 the other day but we didn't score because ther hole team was lined up on the goal line. :evil:

fahad
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: 30 Jun 2006, 03:45
Location: pakistan

Postby fahad » 05 Jul 2006, 08:23

well i think it is given when da ball is not going towards da goal and da defender handles it in da penalty box
^^faddy^^

User avatar
Magicfeet
Moderator
Posts: 1243
Joined: 15 Apr 2005, 10:03
Location: England
Contact:

Postby Magicfeet » 05 Jul 2006, 11:10

I'm pretty sure the indirect free kick does not need to be taken from the penalty spot. I could be wrong though. *Shrugs*

User avatar
*~El Maestro~*
Veteran Member
Posts: 1659
Joined: 25 Mar 2005, 19:39

Postby *~El Maestro~* » 05 Jul 2006, 11:45

If a defender intentionally passes it to his goal keeper and the goal keeper handles the ball then there is an indirect freekick from the spot where the goalie handled the ball.
Image

User avatar
Sputnik
Moderator
Posts: 1946
Joined: 02 Nov 2005, 21:47
Location: London, ENG
Contact:

Postby Sputnik » 05 Jul 2006, 12:00

*~El Maestro~* wrote:If a defender intentionally passes it to his goal keeper and the goal keeper handles the ball then there is an indirect freekick from the spot where the goalie handled the ball.

absolutely correct. basically end of discussion.
  (¯`v´¯)
   `·.¸.·´
  ¸.·´¸.·´¨)    ¸.·*¨)
(¸.·´      (¸.·´      (¸.·´´·¸¸.·¨¯`
Image

Vanzman12
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Apr 2006, 23:49
Contact:

Postby Vanzman12 » 05 Jul 2006, 14:32

Isn't obstruction a foul that is given an indirect free kick?

User avatar
fir_nev
Sgt. I can't get enough of Asian chicks
Posts: 2505
Joined: 10 Mar 2005, 09:25
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby fir_nev » 07 Jul 2006, 15:30

Vanzman12 wrote:Isn't obstruction a foul that is given an indirect free kick?


Outside box, direct freekick.

Inside? Penalty.
Image


Return to “Refereeing”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests