Germany 2006

South american
North american
Euro | History of Soccer | Soccer Players | Soccer Quotes | World Cup

Expert Football > World Football > Germany 2006 > Germany

The German national team

After the disastrous EURO 2006, Germany has appointed Juergen Klinsmann at helm who immediately declared "Our target is to win the World Cup." In preparation for World Cup 2006 the country has built a number of state-of-the-art stadia. Germany had the chance to test them in advance at the 2005 FIFA Confederations Cup. Although they were narrowly knocked out in the Confederations Cup semi-finals by Brazil, Germany is still considered a top contender for the 2006 World Cup title.

Deutscher Fussball-Bund (DFB)

Deutscher Fussball-Bund (DFB)
A consistent force in world football for the past 40 years, Germany holds three European and three World Cup titles. The country has reached all World Cups except in 1930 and 1950, when they did not enter.

15 World Cup appearances
1934, 1938, 1954, 1958, 1962, 1966, 1970, 1974, 1978, 1982, 1986, 1990, 1994, 1998, 2002
Runner-up in 1966, 1982, 1986 and 2002
Champion in 1954, 1974 and 1990

Most caps
Lothar Matthäus (150)
Top scorer
Gerd Müller (68)
1. Germany, apart from Brazil, is the only nation to reach the World Cup final seven times.

Germany Fixtures
All kick-offs are in local German time (GMT +1)

Friday, 9th June 18.00
Germany vs Costa Rica (Group A)
at Munich

Wednesday, 14th June 21.00
Germany vs Poland (Group A)
at Dortmund

Tuesday, 20th June 16.00
Ecuador vs Germany (Group A)
at Berlin

1.Jens Lehmann 10 November 1969GK
12.Oliver Kahn 15 June 1969GK
23.Timo Hildebrand 5 April 1979GK
2.Marcell Jansen4 November 1985DF
3.Arne Friedrich 29 May 1979DF
4.Huth Robert18 August 1984DF
6.Jens Nowotny11 January 1974DF
16.Philipp Lahm11 November 1983DF
17.Per Mertesacker29 September 1984DF
21.Christoph Metzelder 5 November 1980DF
5.Sebastian Kehl13 February 1980MF
7.Bastian Schweinsteiger1 August 1984MF
8.Torsten Frings22 November 1976MF
13.Michael Ballack26 September 1976MF
15.Thomas Hitzlsperger5 April 1982MF
18.Tim Borowski2 May 1980MF
19.Bernd Schneider 17 November 1973MF
17.David Odonkor 21 February 1984MF
9.Mike Hanke5 November 1983AT
10.Oliver Neuville1 May 1973AT
11.Miroslav Klose9 June 1978AT
14.Gerald Asamoah3 October 1978AT
20.Lukas Podolski4 June 1985AT

Coach: Jurgen Klinsmann